If you’ve been following my blog closely you’ll know I’m a huge fan of Kurt Travis. Not only is he one of my favourite vocalists, but he’s also a lovely human being. I was upset with his departure from A Lot Like Birds, partly because No Place is one of the best albums I’ve ever heard and I wanted more, but mainly because it seemed like it mean I’d have to wait even longer to hear Kurt’s superb vocals again.

Turns out that’s not the case at all. With the help of the ex Chon bassist and the drummer from Strawberry Girls, Kurt’s voice is back to delight us, this time in a luscious falsetto that’s worlds apart from his work in his previous post hardcore bands. This combination of math rock and R&B is so addictive that’s it’s going to be painful waiting for more.

Catch my POV piece at Punktastic, watch the video below and enjoy Mike covering this on guitar here.

 

 

