2016 was a fantastic year for music (check out my leaderboard for the best bits) and I’m optimistic that 2017 can be just as good. I’ve put together a selection of some new and emerging artists that I think are going to contribute in a big way.

Climate Control

This South African post-hardcore act released a couple of promising singles last year and I’m hoping we get to hear a more substantial release in 2017. They’ve got a strong vocalist and an interesting ear for melody.

Holding Absence

I’ll admit, I don’t know a great deal about this Cardiff-based band, but I’m hoping that all changes this year. One thing I know for sure is that this track gives me Crooks vibes and that’s never been a bad thing.

 

The Gospel Youth

In 2016 they released a new single each month and they were all fantastic; think a more upbeat, emotionally charged Deaf Havana. Now signed to Rise/Velocity Records, they’ll be releasing a new record this year and I can’t wait to hear it.

 

Wolf & Bear

When I first heard ‘Sight’ I was blown away. All the experimental genius of Dance Gavin Dance with the complex compositions of A Lot Birds, they were destined to sign to Will Swan’s label. When new music drops I’ll be first in line.

 

A Foreign Affair

Another band that I don’t have much background on, but sometimes a great song speaks much loader than a well composed press release. I get Jonny Craig-era Emarosa vibes from this track and that’s something I’ll never tire of hearing. I’m hoping there’s more to come from these guys in 2017.

 

Lost Ground

It feels like I’ve been waiting a long time for this Leeds-based band to release something substantial – ever since I happened to catch one of their hugely captivating performances – and this year it’s finally going to happen. I hope they can capture the same atmosphere they create live on record and I’ve got no reason to doubt them.

 

hubris

Twinkly post-rock at its finest, this Swiss four-piece know how to build an instrumental song with twists, turns, ebbs and flows and I’m looking forward to hearing their next full-length effort.

 

I hope this gives you a little something to look forward to this year that maybe you weren’t previously aware of! Thanks for reading.

