The Great Escape is a festival of musical discovery and a celebration of diversity, bringing over 450 acts from various countries and genres together in the city of Brighton for our listening pleasure. I saw plenty to admire during the three days and over the next days here, I’m going to list out my top 10 finds from this year’s showcase. The bands are laid out in the order in which I saw them rather than in preferential order. Enjoy!

1/10: Jacko Hooper

Jacko Hooper was the first act I saw at this year’s festival and he left a lasting impression. His acoustic songs were hugely impressive thanks to Hooper’s vocals which are so compelling, as well as being technically excellent. He complained about feeling ill through the set but you’d never know judging by the quality of his performance.

Website link

