It’s been a hectic start to the year so far for me, but luckily there have been some great songs emerging to keep me motivated. Here’s my pick of January’s tunes, I hope you find something you like in here.

1) Grumble Bee – H.C.A.D.C

This is taken from Grumble Bee’s upcoming debut EP ‘Disconnect’, which is out on February 29th. I’m really excited about this release, which is why I also nominated this song for ‘Best of January’ over at Punktastic as well.

2) Holding Absence – Luna

This upcoming South Wales-based band have some clear potential. Good vocals and a nice bit of bite in the instrumentals. So far there’s no music to purchase, but one to look out for.

3) Hands Like Houses – Colourblind

This is the third song that Hands Like Houses have teased from upcoming new album ‘Dissonants’, out February 26th, and it’s by far my favourite. I’ve been a little anxious about this release – ‘Unimagine’ was an excellent record but for some reason I’ve been expecting a dip in form. Whether it’s the loss of a member, or the lengthy delay from finishing the record to releasing it, I’m not sure, but this track puts all that to bed. The breakdown makes me very happy indeed!

4) Fatherson – Always

Excellent, catchy pop-rock tune from this Scottish three-piece. They’ll be releasing a new album on June 3rd called ‘Open Book’.

5) My Body Sings Electric – Unimpressive

This is anything but what the title makes out – it’s in fact a classy pop tune that delivers a great hook. It’s taken from three-track EP ‘The Franklin Tapes: Side B’ which is out on February 26th. ‘Side A’ is already available from the band’s Bandcamp page.

6) The Young Hearts – Lions

Debut EP ‘Everything We Left Behind’ was released in December 2015 and it’s an excellent record, filled with emotive, raw alt-rock tunes. ‘Lions’ is a perfect example of what you’ll find on the EP.

7) Monica Heldal – Jimmy Got Home

Norwegian folk artist Monica Heldal is getting ready to release her second album ‘The One in the Sun’ on April 8th. This is another hauntingly beautiful vocal display from Monica.

8) Astrid S – Paper Thin

I discovered Monica Heldal at last year’s The Great Escape festival in Brighton and thanks to this year’s band announcements so far, I’ve now found fellow Norwegian Astrid S. Beautiful vocals, a great hook and some soothing piano – what more do you need?

 

