Here’s an example of a band that manages to generate pure emotion through their music. With a vocalist that has hints of Johnny Craig to his voice, more so on other tracks than this one, and an alternative-indie style that’s reminiscent of modern As Cities Burn and Least of These, Embracer have crafted themselves a beautiful sounding formula.

While musically the band isn’t pushing any boundaries, the soothing lull of the vocals amidst brooding, melancholy guitar lines is enough to pack a serious punch emotionally. “My Father’s Will” is a great example of this; as you get to the end of the song you realise that not a great deal has happened – there’s been no real crescendo – yet you can’t help but press repeat and listen again. I like bands that surprise me like that and Embracer are no exception. The debut EP My Father’s Will was released on November 1st, 2014 so I’m a little late to the party on this one, but I’m happy that I’ve come across it now.

