Regular featured song updates hit a road-block last week after a very busy period, part of which involved a weekend away in Wales to celebrate my wedding anniversary. Appropriately, I’ve picked an act from Wales to get things moving again. The Echo and the Always are an indie-pop five-piece preparing to release their debut album ‘…and After that the Dark’, on 30th October through Jealous Lovers records.

This is the kind of pop music that I can get onboard with – well played and constructed instrumentation with a catchy hook and soothing vocals. It’ll be interesting to see how much variation there is over a full album and whether it can be intriguing enough to hold my attention (which is where this genre of music usually falls down for me) but for now I’m holding out hope that this will be a keeper.

