I already considered Black Peaks to be one of the best live bands I’ve seen this year and they’ve once again reaffirmed this by blowing me away at Y Not Festival in Derbyshire. Being a festival of mixed genres, Black Peaks were probably the heaviest act on the bill and it was great to see the reactions of innocent bystanders, not aware of what was about to hit them, be smacked in the face with raw power. Some faces were wearing expressions akin to an awakening, as if they were being drawn out of their musical comfort zones and being made to watch real music for the first time.

The band are due to release their debut full-length album soon and I’m looking forward to hearing what they’ve come up with. So far on record I don’t think they’ve captured how explosive they sound live on stage, but we’ll see if they can stand up to that challenge. I’m counting down the days to Hevy Fest so I can see the band perform again for another round of passion, energy and raw musical talent in the flesh.

