Having just announced a release date of October 16th for new album Behind the Devil’s Back (the band’s first since 2009), Fightstar have released “Animal” as a taster of what’s to come. They’re one of those bands that I have an appreciation for, but have never been enough of a fan of their material to commit to an album, however “Animal” may well force me to rethink my position.

From an unexpectedly brutal intro, to powerful, memorable choruses, this may be the best I’ve heard the band sound. Charlie Simpson’s voice has always been a great fit for this genre of music and none more so than on this track, where he’s sounding excellent. The band played an excellent set at Download a few weeks ago and with another chance to catch them at Hevy Fest I may well be converted by the middle of August! Here’s hoping for more new tracks like this one.

