I knew very little about Northlane before this year’s Download festival, but after fellow Australians Hands Like Houses recommended I checked them out, I popped along to watch them perform. Their second album Node is out on July 24th through UNFD and having been hugely impressed with their live set, I’m looking forward to hearing more. If you like what you hear, you can pre-order the album at the band’s merch store.

Obelisk is equal parts heavy, melodic and technical and became my soundtrack to the Download festival. A clip of Obelisk kept being played on the giant screens throughout the weekend and the track’s signature riff got so firmly planted in my head that I found myself humming it for days afterwards. Now when I hear this song I’m instantly reminded of a great (albeit soaking wet) weekend at Download.

In support of the new album, Northlane will be embarking on a tour of the US in August and Europe in October.

